(English) Steps To Meditate Properly | Ritu Om

In this video we will talk about what is meditation? Is sitting quietly with eyes closed called
Meditation Hi, I am Ritu from TwinFlamesCoach.com. We help in uniting twin flames and creating
twin flame coaches. To watch previous videos and upcoming videos
regarding twin flames, You can subscribe to our YouTube channel “Twin Flames Coach Chandigarh”. Link to complete playlist related to twin
flames can be found in the description below. Meditation is very much misused word these
days. Lets understand what is meditation. Meditation is another name of Dhayana. In our day to day life, when we do some carelessness,
then our father or mother or others will say that “where is your focus” where is your attention,
or “do it with more focus”. Or “you are not paying attention or focus”
Dhayan is this focus or attention. What is this Dhayan that people are referring
to? What is the way to be more focused or to give more dhyana? Is meditation and Dhayan same? Let’s get to know about what Sage Patanjali
has said in Patanjali yoga sutra’ about meditation. Sage Patanjali has documented everything about
yoga in a document named as “Patanjali yoga sutra”. ‘Patanjali yoga sutra’ says that yoga have
eight steps and thus yoga is known as Ashtang yoga. Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara,
Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi As we can see that in yoga, Dhayan or meditation
is mentioned as 7th step Do you think it is worth to know that, what
are the six steps that comes before Meditation? Do you think it is worth to know that what
we are practicing is really meditation or is it some kind of hallucination? Do you think it is worth to know that how
much time should we spend in meditation daily so that we also maintain a balance with the
outside world to do our daily tasks, activities and between our spiritual life? If yes then lets first discuss briefly about
the eight steps of Ashtang yoga. 1. Yama – The first limb, yama, deals with one’s
ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior and how we conduct
ourselves in life. The five yamas are:
Ahimsa: nonviolence Satya: truthfulness
Asteya: nonstealing Brahmacharya: continence
Aparigraha: non-possessiveness We will not ask you to follow all the Yamas. 2. Niyama – Niyama, the second limb, has to do
with self-discipline and spiritual observances. The five niyamas are:
Saucha: cleanliness Santosa: contentment
Tapas: heat; spiritual discipline Svadhyaya: study of the sacred scriptures
and of one’s self Isvara pranidhana: surrender to God We will not ask you to follow all the Niyama. 3. Asana – the postures practiced in yoga, comprise
the third limb. In the yogic view, the body is a temple of
spirit, the care of which is an important stage of our spiritual growth. Through the practice of asanas, we develop
the habit of discipline and the ability to concentrate,
both of which are necessary for meditation. Many people who contact me have this similar
problem in their life that they can not continue to follow anything for longer periods with
dedication and consistency. This 3rd step of Ashtang yoga i.e. Asana is the required to followed by you. You can devote few minutes daily to do asanas
or Yogic postures 4. Pranayama – Generally translated as extension
of pranas or breath control, this fourth stage consists of techniques designed to gain mastery
over the respiratory process while recognizing the connection between the breath, the mind,
and the emotions. Initially major focus is on Pranayama to build
your breathing capacity.. which in turn LL increase pranas i.e life force. These first four stages of Patanjali’s ashtanga
yoga concentrate on refining our personalities, gaining mastery over the body, and developing
an energetic awareness of ourselves, all of which prepares us for the second half of this
journey, which deals with the senses, the mind, and attaining a higher state of consciousness. 5. Pratyahara – the fifth limb, means withdrawal
or sensory transcendence. It is during this stage that we make the conscious
effort to draw our awareness away from the external world and outside stimuli. Keenly aware of, yet cultivating a detachment
from, our senses, we direct our attention internally. The practice of pratyahara provides us with
an opportunity to step back and take a look at ourselves. This withdrawal allows us to objectively observe
our cravings: habits that are perhaps detrimental to our physical, mental and emotional health
and which interfere with our inner growth. This is the major part that we teach. 6. Dharana – As each stage prepares us for the
next, the practice of pratyahara creates the setting for dharana, or concentration. Having relieved ourselves of outside distractions,
we can now deal with the distractions of the mind itself. Not an easy task! In the practice of concentration, which precedes
meditation, we learn how to slow down the thinking process by concentrating on a single
mental object: a specific energetic center in the body, an image of a deity or the silent
repetition of a sound, or even on breath. We, of course, have already begun to develop
our powers of concentration in the previous three stages of posture, breath control, and
withdrawal of the senses. In asana and pranayama, although we pay attention
to our actions, our attention travels. Our focus constantly shifts In pratyahara we become self-observant; now,
in dharana, we focus our attention on a single point. Extended periods of concentration naturally
lead to meditation. 7. Dhyana – Meditation, the seventh stage of
ashtanga, is the uninterrupted flow of concentration. Although concentration (dharana) and meditation
(dhyana) may appear to be one and the same, a fine line of distinction exists between
these two stages. Where dharana practices one-pointed attention,
dhyana is ultimately a state of being keenly aware without focus. At this stage, the mind has been quietened,
and in the stillness it produces few or no thoughts at all. The strength and stamina it takes to reach
this state of stillness is quite impressive. But don’t give up. While this may seem a difficult if not impossible
task, remember that yoga is a process. Even if we are unable to reach Dhyana, still
know that every stage of Ashtang yog have it own benefits. 8. Samadhi – Patanjali describes this eighth
and final stage of ashtanga, samadhi, as a state of ecstasy. We will not talk much about this stage because
this can not be explained.. When you will reach this stage, you will know. So all I want to say is that is you are already
doing meditation then understand what you are currently following in your meditation
practices? And make sure that you are not missing any
intermediate steps that leads to meditation. Other wise it could just be a confusing journey
for you. If you are being guided by a teacher or a
guru, get to know more about what stage are you following. If you are doing it without any teacher, just
by following YouTube, then may be it will be better to find a teacher who can make the
process more efficient. What are the other tools beside Meditation
that are needed on this twin flame journey? We will talk about it, in our next video. If you have any questions or comments about
this video then leave them in comment section. If you want to know more about Inner work,
then you can check our “Twin Flame Union” program. Link to complete series and link to “Twin
Flame Union” program with details about inner work can be found in the description below. To watch upcoming videos, You can subscribe
to our YouTube channel “Twin Flames Coach Chandigarh”. Thank you so much for watching and I see you
next time.


  1. Ok ji 👍

  2. Thank you ma'am ..keep guiding us👍☺

  3. Very much informative 💐💐

  4. Thank you ma'am for your guidance 🙏

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *